Palmer and Brad Gillis Recognized by Boy Scouts of America, Del-Mar-Va Council As 2015 Lower Eastern Shore Distinguished Citizens



SALISBURY, MD – May 29, 2015 – Devreco, a locally owned and operated full service development firm, announced father and son, Palmer and Brad Gillis were honored at the 2015 Lower Eastern Shore Distinguished Award Dinner on May 28, 2015 at University of Maryland Eastern Shore.  The event was hosted by Boy Scouts of America, Del-Mar-Va Council.

“We had a selection committee of past honorees and a few other key leaders in the community who selected them as our honorees this year,” said Kevin LesCallette, Boy Scouts of America, Del-Mar-Va Council.  “We began our selection with this in mind:

Recipients are selected for their outstanding service as evidenced by their leadership to many worthwhile organizations, as well as the respect and esteem in which they are held by their colleagues.

In recognizing both Palmer and Brad this year, we felt this was a great opportunity to honor both of them for their tremendous gifts of leadership and commitment to their communities and to tell the local Scouting story to a multi-generational audience.”

“I am flattered to receive recognition from such a worthwhile organization as the Boy Scouts of America,” said Brad Gillis.  “The event provided me with the opportunity to celebrate with the people who are committed to the future of our youth and growth and success of our community.  I look forward to introducing my 1 year old son Jackson to Boy Scouts in the future and strive to instill in him the same values and knowledge he will need to become a leader in our community.”

“It says right in the Boy Scout promise…“to do my best to help others at all times.”  “I’m sure the world would be a better place if we all abided by this oath,” said Palmer Gillis.  “The true honorees of the evening are the men and women within the Scouting organization who are helping to guide and mold the future of our country.

Past recipients include Ron Alessi Sr., Bob Cook, Charles R. “Chip” Dashiell Jr., Richard Hazel, Richard Hensen, Jim Perdue and Tony Sarbanes.